After inviting users to your account, you may find that the invitation emails are not received because the user's email address is "blocked." This article will explain how you can see when emails are blocked, describe how emails get blocked in the first place, and then detail a few quick steps that a Full Company Access user can take to remedy this issue.
When Do Emails Get Blocked?
If you have invited a user to activate their account, but they are not receiving the "Welcome" email, it could be an indication that the system is blocking the email from being released. Usually, a "blocked" email occurs when the company that originally invited the user sends an email to the user's email address before it was setup as an email. One example of this is when onboarding a new employee under their work email address, before this address has been created. Since the email did not exist when the invitation was sent, the message bounced. To avoid work emails from being blocked, the "Add Employee" workflow allows for people to be hired through a personal email address and then add their work email in a later step.
"Blocked" emails are not exclusive to new users, however; an email for a user who has already been set up can also experience trouble receiving notifications. Any time a message from the platform bounces back, the system will automatically "block" that email address.
How To Check If An Email Is Blocked?
To see if an email has been blocked, someone with Full Company Access will want to first navigate to the "Administration" workspace. Access this by clicking the arrow next to the "Company Workspace" tab on the main dashboard.
From there, click on the "Invalid Emails" button in the General Settings box:
This will allow you to view all of the emails that have been blocked. As mentioned above, an email is usually "blocked" when a work email gets added to the "Invite New User" workflow before the email address has been created.
What To Do If An Email Is Blocked?
Any user with Full Company Access can get an email off of the blocked list by taking the same steps outlined above. Once in the "Administration" workspace and viewing the emails that have been listed as "blocked," click the small "x" button next to the email address:
Once removed from the block list, the user should be able to receive messages again. If there are missed email messages from open workflows that you would like to resend, navigate back to the open workflow and select the "Remind" button as needed to re-send the email to the previously blocked account.
For more account management details, including how to set a preferred email, change your password, view your access level, and change your address, check out this article here!
Screenshots are for illustrative purposes only.
© 2023 FMR LLC. All rights reserved.